Masters of Creative Non-Fiction

Moderator: Jerry Wasserman

Event Number: 26
Tickets: $20.00

Youth under 30: $15.00


Masters of Creative Non-Fiction

Wednesday, Oct 23
6:00pm - 7:15pm
The Revue Stage

1601 Johnston Street

What happens when an historic event grabs you—and refuses to let go? What are the challenges and rewards of transforming painstaking research into absorbing prose? Hailed as “one of Canada’s best-loved writers of popular history and literary biography,” Charlotte Gray (Murdered Midas) has been showered with awards for precise and richly drawn renderings of historical figures. Giller Prize winner Linden MacIntyre (The Wake) is renowned for his gripping non-fiction and fiction, crafting bestsellers that crackle with suspense and compassion. Undisputed masters of their craft, Gray and MacIntyre delve into their shared background as journalists, their approaches to historical research and their secrets to writing heartstopping, engrossing non-fiction.

Presented in partnership with HarperCollins Canada.




About the Moderator:
Jerry Wasserman
 is Professor Emeritus of English and Theatre at UBC, where he taught for 44 years. Editor of Modern Canadian Plays, he has published widely on theatre history, modern fiction and blues music. He currently reviews theatre for the Vancouver Sun and his website, As an actor, Jerry has over 200 professional credits for stage, film and television, and is a member of the BC Entertainment Hall of Fame.

Event Participants:

Charlotte Gray


Charlotte Gray‘s ten previous non-fiction bestsellers include most recently The Massey Murder and The Promise of Canada, both of which won major awards. The Discovery Channel miniseries Klondike was based on Gold Diggers, her book about the Yukon Gold Rush. Gray lives in Ottawa and is a Member of the Order of Canada and an adjunct research professor at Carleton University.

Linden MacIntyre


Linden MacIntyre’s bestselling first novel, The Long Stretch, was nominated for a CBA Libris Award, while his boyhood memoir, Causeway: A Passage from Innocence won both the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction and the Evelyn Richardson Non-Fiction Award. His second novel, The Bishop’s Man, was a #1 national bestseller and the winner of the Scotiabank Giller Prize, the Dartmouth Book Award for Fiction and the CBA Libris Fiction Book of the Year Award. His other novels include Why Men Lie, Punishment and The Only Café.