Linden MacIntyre in Conversation

Moderator: Tara Henley

Event Number: 49
Tickets: $26.00

Youth under 30: $15.00


Linden MacIntyre in Conversation

Friday, Oct 25
10:15am - 11:30am

(formerly Studio 1398)
3rd Floor, Festival House
1398 Cartwright Street

Regardless of genre or medium, former CBC Fifth Estate co‑host Linden MacIntyre is an undisputed master storyteller, recognized with 10 Gemini Awards, an International Emmy, the Scotiabank Giller Prize and a Libris Award—just to name a few! For decades, his work has played an integral role in helping Canadians understand our unfolding histories. Now, in captivating conversation, he discusses his latest work, The Wake. With relentless energy and erudite prose, MacIntyre captures the endurance and bravery of generations of Newfoundlanders, examining how the devastating 1929 tsunami irrevocably changed the fate of the province. It’s a triumphant interrogation of the unshakeable entanglements between humans and nature, one that could only be written by an author of MacIntyre’s voracious talent.

About the moderator:
Tara Henley is an award-winning writer and broadcaster. Over the past two decades, her work has appeared on the CBC, and in The Guardian, The L.ATimes, The Globe and Mail and The Walrus, as well as dozens of other publications across the country and around the world. Currently a producer at CBC Radio and a books columnist for The Toronto Star, her debut book, The Madness of Modern Life, is out on Appetite (Penguin Random House) in the spring of 2020.

Event Participants:

Linden MacIntyre


Linden MacIntyre’s bestselling first novel, The Long Stretch, was nominated for a CBA Libris Award, while his boyhood memoir, Causeway: A Passage from Innocence won both the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction and the Evelyn Richardson Non-Fiction Award. His second novel, The Bishop’s Man, was a #1 national bestseller and the winner of the Scotiabank Giller Prize, the Dartmouth Book Award for Fiction and the CBA Libris Fiction Book of the Year Award. His other novels include Why Men Lie, Punishment and The Only Café.