Between the Pages: An Evening with the Scotiabank Giller Prize Finalists

Moderator: Leslie Hurtig

Event Number: 01
Tickets: $26.00

Youth under 30: $15.00

Between the Pages: An Evening with the Scotiabank Giller Prize Finalists

Monday, Oct 21
The Vancouver Playhouse

600 Hamilton Street

Without fail, the winner of the annual Scotiabank Giller Prize becomes a household name in Canada. Those shortlisted also step into the proverbial hall of CanLit fame, their titles splashed across best-of lists at year end for good reason. No wonder the shortlist is a staple of many bibliophiles’ reading lists. Our annual on-stage interview with finalists of the Giller Prize kicks off the Festival includes David Bezmozgis, Megan Gail Coles, Michael Crummey, Alix Ohlin, Steven Price and Ian Williams. Hear about the creative processes, anticipations and camaraderies between incredible creatives before the winner is announced on November.

Presented in partnership with the Scotiabank Giller Prize.





About the moderator:
Leslie Hurtig was born into a house of books and has made her career from various points within Canada’s book industry. She has worked for some of Canada’s best bookstores, acted as a sales representative and publicist for some of North America’s great publishers, and worked as a foreign rights and contracts manager at Raincoast Books. Leslie sat on the Board of Directors for the Vancouver Writers Fest before taking on this role as Artistic Director; a role which she says is her dream job come true.

Event Participants:

David Bezmozgis


David Bezmozgis is an award-winning writer and filmmaker. He is the author of Natasha and Other StoriesThe Free World, and The Betrayers. His writing has appeared in many publications, including The New YorkerHarper’sZoetrope: All-Story, and Best American Short Stories. He has been twice nominated for the Scotiabank Giller Prize and the Governor General’s Literary Award, and his debut story collection, Natasha and Other Stories, won the Toronto Book Award and the Commonwealth Writer’s Prize for First Book. He has been a Guggenheim Fellow, a MacDowell Fellow, a Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Fellow at the New York Public Library, and a Radcliffe Fellow. He is the Director of the Humber School for Writers. Born in Riga, Latvia, he lives in Toronto.

Megan Gail Coles


Megan Gail Coles is a graduate of Memorial University of Newfoundland and the National Theatre School of Canada, and she has recently completed a Masters of Fine Arts from the University of British Columbia. She has written and produced numerous plays. Her first fiction collection, Eating Habits of the Chronically Lonesome, won the BMO Winterset Award, the ReLit Award, and the Margaret and John Savage First Book Award, and it earned her the one-time Writers’ Trust 5×5 prize. Small Game Hunting at the Local Coward Gun Club, her debut novel, was longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. Originally from Savage Cove on the Great Northern Peninsula of Newfoundland, Megan currently resides in Montreal, where she is a Ph.D. candidate at Concordia University.

Michael Crummey


Michael Crummey’s first novel, River Thieves, was a finalist for the 2001 Scotiabank Giller Prize, and his second novel, The Wreckage, was a finalist for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize. His third novel, Galore, wont he Commonwealth Writers’ Prize (Canada and the Caribbean) and was a finalist for the Governor General’s Literary Award. His most recent novel, Sweetland, was also a finalist for the Governor General’s Literary Award. He lives in St. John’s, Newfoundland.

Alix Ohlin

British Columbia

Alix Ohlin‘s latest novel is Dual Citizens (House of Anansi). Her previous novel, Inside, was a finalist for the Scotiabank Giller Prize and the Rogers Writers Trust Fiction Prize. She lives in Vancouver and chairs the Creative Writing Program at UBC., @AlixOhlin 

Steven Price

British Columbia

Steven Price‘s most recent novel, By Gaslight 2016, was a #1 bestseller, longlisted for the Giller Prize, and named a Book of the Year by the Globe & Mail, CBC, the Writer’s Trust of Canada, and NPR. His other books include a novel, Into that Darkness 2011, and two poetry collections: Anatomy of Keys 2006, and Omens in the Year of the Ox 2012. He lives in Victoria.

Ian Williams

British Columbia

Ian Williams is the author of Personals, shortlisted for the Griffin Poetry Prize and the Robert Kroetsch Poetry Book Award; Not Anyone’s Anything, winner of the Danuta Gleed Literary Award for the best first collection of short fiction in Canada; and You Know Who You Are, a finalist for the ReLit Prize for poetry. Williams completed his Ph.D. in English at the University of Toronto, mentored by George Elliot Clarke, and is currently an assistant professor of poetry in the Creative Writing program at the University of British Columbia. His first novel, Reproduction, launched in January.