2021 Festival Reading List

Revealed: Our 2021 Reading List!

Books by authors at this year’s Festival include:

Jordan Abel • André Alexis • Mona Awad • Brit Bennett • Anthony Doerr • Esi Edugyan • Chantal Gibson • Harold R. Johnson • Cherie Jones • Wab Kinew • Beverley McLachlin • Darrel J. McLeod • Silvia Moreno-Garcia • Susan Orlean • Ruth Ozeki • Yusef Salaam • Miriam Toews • Colson Whitehead • Zoe Whittall • Ian Williams

…and announcing our 2021 Guest Curator
Lawrence Hill

Click the image above to see the 2021 Reading List.

We’re thrilled to share a list of exceptional books by writers from across the globe participating in this year’s 2021 Festival activities. More than 110 books will be shared by authors, poets and spoken word artists during the week-long flagship Festival from October 18-24. We look forward to the return of in-person events on our home of Granville Island, including hybrid explorations, as well as the continuation of our popular streamed events online, including podcasts and encore opportunities for audiences in Vancouver and beyond.

“This fall, the VWF reimagines our programming to present Canadian and international authors and books, adapting our events to best-suit the current environment as it evolves. The Festival will run October 18–24, and will feature dozens of events, including five especially curated by award-winning author Lawrence Hill, our 2021 Guest Curator,” shared Leslie Hurtig, Artistic Director. 

An award-winning and internationally acclaimed author of ten books, including The Book of Negroes and CBC Reads-winning novel The Illegal, Lawrence Hill is a former Massey lecturer and member of the Order of Canada. We are delighted to welcome him as this year’s Guest Curator.

Also returning to her role as Spoken Word Curator for the Festival is Jillian Christmas, who will curate one event for youth and another for adults, featuring established and emerging spoken word artists. 

Highlights for this year include books by Pulitzer Prize winning authors Anthony Doerr, Richard Powers and Colson Whitehead (also our Fall Book Club selection!); award-winners Joshua Bennett, Douglas Coupland, Joshua Ferris, Liz Howard, Darrel J. McLeod, Ian Williams, and David R. Robertson; rising stars Isabella Wang, Lisa Bird-Wilson, Te-Ping Chen, Pik-Shuen Fung, jaye simpson; Women’s Prize shortlisted authors Brit Bennett, Claire Fuller, and Cherie Jones; Canadian powerhouses Beverley McLachlin, Linwood Barclay, Silvia Moreno-Garcia, and Alix Ohlin; as well as bestselling favourites Uzma Jalaluddin, Jael Richardson, and Miram Toews, among many others, listed below.

Tickets to the 2021 Vancouver Writers Fest will go on sale September 8 for members and September 15 for the general public, with our Program Guide of events released later this summer.

* This Reading List represents all confirmed books as of press time. For further additions, check our website and social media regularly.

Click here to get your 2021 Reading List.

Welcoming our 2021 Festival Authors
* Confirmed after the production of the Reading List

Jordan Abel
Caroline Adderson
Kamal Al-Solaylee
André Alexis
Karim Alrawi
Mona Awad
Linwood Barclay
Gary Barwin
Brit Bennett
Joshua Bennett
Shashi Bhat
Bertrand Bickersteth
Lisa Bird-Wilson
Myriam J.A. Chancy
Te-Ping Chen
Joanna Chiu
George Elliott Clarke
Douglas Coupland
Christa Couture
Molly Cross-Blanchard
Aminder Dhaliwal
Anthony Doerr
Antonio Michael Downing
Norma Dunning
Elisa Shua Dusapin
Esi Edugyan
Omar El Akkad
Joshua Ferris
Sofia Fly*
John Freeman
Claire Fuller
Pik-Shuen Fung
Whitney Gardner
Chantal Gibson
Francisco Goldman
Elena Ferrante
Hiromi Goto
Lauren Groff
Tomson Highway
Gord Hill
Liz Howard
Roy Jacobsen
Uzma Jalaluddin
Carrie Jenkins
Harold R. Johnson
Wayne Johnston
Cherie Jones
Stephen Graham Jones
Mieko Kawakami
Linda Boström Knausgård
Arno Kopecky
Gordon Korman
Janice Jo Lee*
Jen Sookfong Lee
Atticus Lish
Linden MacIntyre
J.B. MacKinnon
Beverley McLachlin
Darrel J. McLeod
Will McPhail
Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Billeh Nickerson
Susin Nielsen
Andrew O’Hagan
Alix Ohlin
Susan Orlean
Evan Osnos*
Ruth Ozeki
Sara Pennypacker
Valérie Perrin
Lois Peterson
Ben Philippe
Casey Plett
Richard Powers
Pilar Quintana
Sarah Raughley
Jael Richardson
David A. Robertson
Jaap Robben
Tom Ryan
Yusef Salaam
Kevin Sands
Renée Sarojini Saklikar
Brian Selznick
Anne Serre
jaye simpson
Adam Sol
Ashley Spires
Maria Stepanova*
Robin Stevenson
Lisa Taddeo
Eddy Boudel Tan
Rob Taylor
Peyton Thomas
Miriam Toews
Colm Tóibín*
Jeff VanderMeer
Katherena Vermette
Karina Vernon
Isabella Wang
Jesse Wente
Colson Whitehead
Zoe Whittall
Sam Wiebe
Ian Williams
Brandon Wint*
Kathleen Winter
Alex Wood
Rachel Yoder
Xiran Jay Zhao