No Putting Them Down: Riveting Crime Fiction

Moderator: Jerry Wasserman

No Putting Them Down: Riveting Crime Fiction

Sunday, Oct 25
Live on Zoom

Fans of good crime writing know the hazards: late nights from turning pages and vivid dreams questioning who’s really to blame for a wicked deed. There’s no better way to spend an early Sunday evening than immersing oneself in the complex imaginings of three authors, all of whom transcend the catch phrase “murder mystery” in their work. Sheena Kamal’s No Going Back, the third in her Nora Watts thriller series, was named one of the most anticipated books of the year by a host of outlets such as LitHub and Book Riot. Joe Ide returns with the latest in his fast-paced IQ series, the protagonist of which grew out of his youthful passion for Sherlock Holmes stories. And film and TV writer Attica Locke (When They See Us and Little Fires Everywhere) joins us with Heaven, My Home, the second in her Highway 59 series about race and justice in America. How do they keep the pages turning and their secrets safe? Hear exactly that in a lively conversation with three writers at the top of their genre.

JERRY WASSERMAN is an actor, theatre critic, Emeritus Professor of English & Theatre at UBC, and an avid fan of crime fiction.

Event Participants:

Joe Ide

United States

JOE IDE is the acclaimed author of IQ which won the Shamus, Macavity and Anthony Awards for Best First Novel while also being nominated for the Edgar Award, the Strand Critics Award, and a Barry Award. Born from a youthful passion for Sherlock Holmes, Ide’s crime fiction series featuring Isaiah Quintabe includes Righteous, Wicked and the latest, Hi Five, have found their place in the pantheon of detective fiction.

Sheena Kamal

British Columbia / Ontario

SHEENA KAMAL holds an HBA in Political Science from the University of Toronto, and was awarded a TD Canada Trust scholarship for community leadership and activism around the issue of homelessness. Her bestselling debut The Lost Ones won her a Kobo Emerging Writer Prize, a Strand Critics Award, and Macavity Award for Best First Novel. The sequel, It All Falls Down, has been called “a stunning, emotionally resonant thriller” in its Kirkus-starred review.

Attica Locke

United States

ATTICA LOCKE is the author of the 2018 Edgar Award winner Bluebird, Bluebird; Pleasantville, which won the 2016 Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction and was long-listed for the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction; and The Cutting Season, a national bestseller and winner of the Ernest J. Gaines Award for Literary Excellence. She is also a television writer and producer, most recently for When They See Us and the adaptation of Little Fires Everywhere.