Incite: April 26

Wednesday, April 26, 2017
7:30pm (Doors at 7pm)
VPL Central Branch - Alice MacKay Room

Lisa See is the New York Times bestselling author of The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane, Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, Peony in Love, Shanghai Girls, China Dolls, and Dreams of Joy, which debuted at #1. See is also the author of On Gold Mountain, which tells the story of her Chinese American family’s settlement in Los Angeles. See was honored as National Woman of the Year by the Organization of Chinese American Women in 2001 and was the recipient of the Chinese American Museum’s History Makers Award in fall 2003.

The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane
After a foreign stranger arrives in a remote village in China, Li-yan's quiet life as a tea farmer begins to go astray. When she gives birth to a child out of wedlock, she is forced to give the child up--however, the bond between mother and daughter can't be broken, even after the child is adopted by an American family, thousands of miles away. A powerful story about a family, separated by circumstances, culture, and distance, Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane paints an unforgettable portrait of a little known region and its people and celebrates the bond that connects mothers and daughters.

Michael Kaan was born in Winnipeg, the second child of a father from Hong Kong and a Canadian mother. The Water Beetles is his first novel.

The Water Beetles
When Japan invades China in 1941, the wealthy Leung family is forced to disappear into the family mansion and send their children away. The youngest boy, Chung-Man, escapes deep into the countryside, fleeing Japanese invaders. What follows is an engrossing story of adventure and survival about a child caught in the midst of conflict inspired by the journals of Michael Kaan's father.

Carys Davies is the author of two collections of short stories, Some New Ambush (Salt 2007) and The Redemption of Galen Pike (Salt 2014), which won the 2015 Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award and the 2015 Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize. Her short fiction has been broadcast on BBC Radio 4 and widely published in magazines, anthologies and online, including, most recently, in The Dublin Review, Granta New Writing, Prospect, The Royal Society of Literature Review, The Stinging Fly, New Welsh Short Stories, and The Story Love Loss & The Lives Of Women 100 Great Short Stories

The Redemption of Galen Pike
From remote Australian settlements to the snows of Siberia, from Colorado to Cumbria, restless teenagers, middle-aged civil servants, and Quaker spinsters traverse expanses of solitude to reveal the secrets of the human heart. Encountering domestic abuse, marital strife, murder, and a myriad of other challenges, Carys Davies' characters are set on journeys that surprise at every turn. Written with raw and rigorous prose, charged throughout by a prickly wit, the stories in The Redemption of Galen Pike remind us how little we know of the lives of others.