Incite: January 16

7:30pm on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
Admission is free*
Alice MacKay room, Central Library

A night of award winners! Tamas Dobozy reads from Siege 13, winner of the Rogers Writers' Trust Award for Fiction, Candace Savage reads from A Geography of Blood, winner of the Hilary Weston Prize for Non-Fiction and Tim Bowling reads from The Tinsmith, shortlisted for the Rogers Writers' Trust Award for Fiction.

The Writers

Tamas Dobozy

Tamas Dobozy is currently an associate professor in the Department of English and Film Studies at Wilfred Laurier University. Siege 13, his new collection of short stories, won the Rogers Writers' Trust Award for Fiction and was a finalist for the 2012 Governor General’s Literary Award for Fiction.

Siege 13
Thirteen linked stories surround the siege of Budapest, recounting one of the fiercest battles of the Second World War. Set in both Budapest before and after the siege, and in the present day Siege 13 traces the ripple effects of the siege and its ability to transcend generations.


Candace Savage

Candace Savage was raised in a succession of small towns, mostly in Alberta. In 2010, Savage was inducted as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, in recognition of her scholarly and artistic achievements. Her latest book, A Geography of Blood, won the Hilary Weston Prize for Non-Fiction.

A Geography of Blood
When Savage and her partner buy a house in Eastend, she has no idea what awaits her. At first she enjoys exploring the area, but as Savage explores further, she uncovers a darker reality and finds that she must reassess the story she grew up with as the daughter of prairie homesteaders.


Tim Bowling

Tim Bowling has twice been nominated for a Governor General’s Award for poetry and has won the Canadian Authors Association Award for poetry. His work of non-fiction, The Lost Coast: Salmon, Memory and the Death of Wild Culture, was nominated for the Writers’ Trust Prize for nonfiction. Bowling is the recipient of a Guggenheim fellowship, the Petra Kenney International Poetry Prize, the National Poetry Award and the Orillia International Poetry Prize. He has won five Alberta Book Awards. His latest novel, The Tinsmith, was shortlisted for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize.

The Tinsmith
During the bloodiest single-day battle in American history, Anson Baird is on the front line tending to the wounded. As the casualties rise, a soldier named John comes to Anson's aid. Twenty years later, haunted by the violence of his past, Anson is compelled to discover the fate of his old friend John, a fate inextricably linked to his own.



*Please let us know you are attending by registering in advance. Click here to register for this event. Please note that registration is so that we know how many people to expect. Admission on the night is always on a first-come-first-served basis.